World of Warcraft Secrets: Easter eggs

There are many easter eggs in World of Warcraft. Some are just small, fun things, hidden messages or jokes we usually don’t notice cause we’re too busy with something else. You might already have heard of some of them cause they aren’t exactly new, but it’s still fun to visit these places and have a look. Here are some of my favorite easter eggs.

Nova Shrine

The Nova Shrine is a small blue shrine on a floating rock in Netherstorm.
It flashes the letters N O V A and is a memorial to Starcraft: Ghost.
Some say you under certain conditions can see Nova Terra kneeling next to it, but I’ve never seen her. If you listen closely you can also hear Starcraft music playing.
a
a

Critter war in Mulgore

North in Mulgore on the border to Stonetalon Mountains the critters are at war with each other. They carry weapons and armor. I don’t know what this is a reference to, but people have said different things like Watership Down, Redwall and Conker’s Bad Fur Day.

a

LOST in Sholazar Basin

On a small island in a lake in Sholazar Basin is a bunker in the ground. It has a plaque with the numbers 5 9 16 17 24 43, This is a reference to the numbers “4 8 15 16 23 42” from LOST.

Eye of Arthas

The Eye of Arthas in Icecrown is a reference to the Eye of Sauron in Lord of the Rings.

a

Statue of Liberty

The movie Planet of the Apes.

Goblin Shredder display

There is a picture of Sarah Kerrigan from Starcraft on the screen in goblin shredders.

A

Terminator hand

The terminator hand can be found several places in WoW, one of them is in Utgarde Pinnacle in Howling Fjord. This is of course a reference to the Terminator movies.

16 thoughts on “World of Warcraft Secrets: Easter eggs

    1. Same here :D Think I flew around there for a good while and just watched them run around and kill each other. They look so cute and innocent, then suddenly they grow to double size and get weapons :P

    1. Haha :D Well, I don’t think there is much to do at the moment, that’s why I’m running/flying around doing things like this :P

  1. I’ve seen the critters with the weapons in Mulgore. I go there from time to time, and watch them because it’s cute! XD Conker’s Bad Fur was one of my favorite games.

  2. This is a great post! Thank you for sharing these little gems. I didn’t know about the goblin shredder display–very cool. Totally forgot about the critter war, thank you for the reminder–I’ll be flying over tonight to get a glimpse :)

    Though it does make me wonder, after all these years, what are they fighting about? Which critters are winning? Will there ever be peace?

  3. I love these little things that can be found in WoW – and some of them I didn’t know about until I read about them on your site.

    The critters with weapons still crack me up though *lol*

  4. Silly moonkin Easter eggs are for another in-game holiday event. But seriously love the hidden moments of laughter. Especially makes want to go the lake in Sholazar Basin & check who is on button duty. I mean seriously forget Deathwing, apparently J.J. Abrams was an original Titan of Azeroth. That stuff needs an answer.

    Great post.

  5. This is my favorite type of post! I love learning about all the secret and fun things hidden in the game. Some of them I’ve seen before, but I had never noticed the Kerrigan face on the shredders or the terminator hand!

  6. It’s posts like these that make me remember why I love this game so much.

    You can always find some things you hadn’t known about previously if you keep looking. And it puts a smirk on my face each time I find something I didn’t know existed.

    Thanks for sharing those little easter eggs.
    Some things I’d never seen. That makes me want to go out there again and discover Azeroth (and Draenor, for that matter).
    Other things I already knew about, which — II have to be honest — fills me with a little fake pride.

    Then I think some more and shake my head at how many things I know and am able to remember about this game when I cannot remember a doctor’s appointment 4 days away.

    Then I switch on my computer and play some more.

  7. there’s also Tekton and agee taylor in elwynn forest… u kill the sheep it exploads blows u away and agee taylor comes out and yells at you!!

Leave a comment