Day 04 – My best WoW memory

I have many good memories from WoW.  Like the first time I joined a real guild, it was a 10 man PvE guild and we were raiding Karazhan, I was super excited about it, and so proud when we downed the first boss. Or when I finally had gold enough to buy epic flying and later on got my Netherwing drake. And epic fights like Lady Vashj, Kael’thas and Illidan.

My best WoW memory still has to be the first time I met Chrissy. I don’t remember exactly when we first met, but I got this screenshot taken May 16th 2008, so it was around that time. I was always hanging around in Shattrath before and after raids, so was everyone else. I used to talk with my friends there, meet new people and just have fun.

But this day I was on an adventure in the Eastern Kingdoms, I don’t remember where or why, but I saw this draenei shaman. I didn’t attack cause she seemed friendly, I think she waved at me and then she disappeared, so I continued on my adventure. I was in Booty Bay, and there she was again, the same shaman. I didn’t really think more about it then, finished my adventure and went back to Shattrath to relax in the Scryer Bank. Guess who I greeted me there, the shaman. Then I started to wonder, who is this shaman, is she following me, and if, then how, cause it was weird that we had bumped into each other three times on so short time and two random places in contested areas.

It’s not that easy to communicate with players of the opposite faction, but we tried with different emotes like pointing and waving. I introduced her to some of my friends and I met some of her guildies. We continued with all this emoting for some time, days, weeks maybe, I don’t remember. We used to meet in the bank, danced, flew/ran around showing off our different mounts and pets and had picnic with the romantic picnic basket.

After a while of all this I started to get really curious, who was this shaman, so I checked her guilds website, they had no players called Jussy, but she was in that guild, maybe it was an alt or a friend. I couldn’t figure it out, so I made a post on their forum to ask. I got an answer pretty quick, this was a the rogue Chrissy’s alt. So I wrote a PM and asked if he remembered me, and he did, he told me about his characters, their raid progress and I did the same.

I used to be active on an unofficial realm forum we had, many old and new players were there, and there was this IRL picture thread and my GM back then decided it was a good idea to post a picture of me and her. I had never told anyone else but my guild that I was a girl, so some people were surprised of this girl playing a male tauren warrior. I remember Chrissy PMed me later that day and said he had no idea I was a girl.

We continued to meet each other randomly and to write PMs. But later that fall of 2008 around the time Wrath of the Lich King was released we were both very busy planning how we should level up and etc, well I know he was planning this big power leveling thing with some guildies, one of them being the paladin Athene who most of us have heard of. So we didn’t chat much until a week after release when he told me about them getting banned and the characters resetted to level 70. But they reached 80 again fast and as they started to raid and compete as one of the best guilds on the server, he had little time to chat with me, so we almost lost contact for a while besides the few times we randomly met in Dalaran.

A few months later we had gotten to know each other better, and his guild so I decided to create an Alliance character and apply. I got to join and we started to raid together and it went pretty well. We’ve been raiding together since then.

But who knew back then this guy would one day become my boyfriend? I had no idea. It might be weird, but it’s still the best memory I got from WoW.

Leave a Reply

