Syrco, Slayer of Stupid, Incompetent and Disappointing Minions

Congratulations! Allow me to grant you a title befitting the amazing achievement you just performed! Henceforth, you shall be known as the Slayer of Stupid, Incompetent and Disappointing Minions.

Longest title ever? Yes, it has to be. And where do you get it? By killing Maloriak heroic in Blackwing Descent. But sadly it’s only a temporary title which lasts 30 minutes.

We killed this boss some weeks ago after a few days of tries, I think. Our problem was not enough damage on the adds, and also the interrupting was a problem for a while, but after getting all dpsers in their best AoE spec and arranging the interrupts a little better we got to the last phase and our good tanks knew exactly how to tank him so that was not a problem, but we had a different problem..

The frost orbs or what they are called. Are they really that hard to see!? No, I don’t think so, they are huge and white, how can you possibly miss them? And they hurt, so you don’t ever wanna step on them. But people did, many times, and died. Good thing my Skada damage meter can track “Damage taken by spell” <3 But people learned to open their eyes and still focus when the boss is below 25% cause it’s not dead before it hits the ground.

I dare to say this boss is now on farm status, though we have problems with him sometimes, but it’s the same with Chimaeron, sometimes we one shot, other times we just fail really bad.. Blaming it on the setup and bad attendance.

This last week we had one of our fail days on Maloriak, we spent a few hours on him I think. But I didn’t really mind cause he’s my favorite boss. Why? Well, it’s more than just stand still and nuke down, different phases with different things to do, like watch out for the frost tomb, watch for debuff, stack, spread, and kill adds.

But as a moonkin this fight is more. My actions from we engage the boss will affect my damage on the adds and the rest of the fight more than you think. It’s so important to start correct and get the correct Eclipse before the Vile Swills spawn, cause you want to be able to do max damage on them and get them down before next phase. What I do is to set my Wild Mushrooms anywhere in the tank’s kite path, we always start on the right side of the room and kite around to left side.

I start by popping my Treants to use them as many times as possible, up with DoTs, then casting Wraths and Starsurge to get Lunar Eclipse, Starfall before the adds spawn cause it will be off CD again fast with the glyph of Starfall and Starsurge, then Starfires to get Solar Eclipse, and then stop! I give Thorns to the Vile Swills tank and he starts to kite them. And the fun starts: Because of the moonkin talent Lunar Shower

When you cast Moonfire, you gain Lunar Shower. Lunar Shower increases the direct damage done by your Moonfire by 45%, and reduces the mana cost by 30%. This effect is refreshed and amplified when you move, stacking up to 3 times. Effect lasts for 3 sec.

So what I do is Sunfire, tab, Sunfire, tab and Insect Swarm, tab, Insect Swarm, tab, while strafing to left and right, till all the adds are DoTed. Repeat. This way your Moonfire which now has morphed to Sunfire will do 45% extra damage and cost nothing, and as Solar Eclipse buffs all your nature damage, your Insect Swarm and Wild Mushrooms will do 25% extra damage. So remember to detonate the Mushrooms when the tank passes them and set them out again if you can.

I’m not sure but sometimes it’s like you gain more from placing Mushrooms and detonate them than you would by DoTing, even though you lose time by placing the Mushrooms. Ye, I’m not a theorycrafter and know nothing about math so I can’t give an answer.

But this is how I play on Maloriak and my fellow moonkin Förstborn does too, and we’re doing great on damage on this fight so I guess we’re doing the right thing : )

Leave a Reply

