My Blog as a Mix Tape

I first discovered this link-up on Nerdjoy but it was started by Joie Fatale of Confessions of a Book Pimp.

mixtape copy

What would your blog sound like if it was a Mix Tape? Five songs on side A, and Five on B?
Create a playlist, of 10 songs that describe your blog! Any genre! Any song!
Tweet your link with the hashtag: #MyBlogMixTape! And please, please, please! Leave me a comment with the link to your post! I want to hear all the music!!!

I love music, so this topic is perfect for me! But it’s not easy to pick 10 songs to describe my blog. My blog is first and foremost a World of Warcraft blog. But I’ve also written more personal posts and I would like to continue to write not only about World of Warcraft but about other games, other interests and maybe some personal stuff every now and then. I’ve been working on this playlist for some weeks now, not all the time of course but I’ve been listening to different music, reading lyrics and thinking.

The lyrics are very important to me, I always read through them when I hear a new song I like so I can learn what it’s about and understand it. I often find my own meaning with it because it reminds me of something. The songs I’ve chosen for my playlists are all songs I like a lot from my favorite band Machinae Supremacy, a song from Donkeyboy, my favorite song by Lindsey Stirling, one song by Porcupine Tree and the music from the faerie dragon event in the Whispering Forest.

I’ve added parts of the lyrics that appeal to me.

Donkeyboy – Crazy Something Normal

There’s a ripped off cord
To my TV screen
Because I will never
be afraid to dream

I’m a dreamer, sometimes I have to remind myself to live in the real world and not only in my dreams,

Machinae Supremacy – Republic of Gamers

We are all equals here
and we fight for dominion tonight
We don’t ask color, race or creed,
dedicated, free-for-all

Passed through my line of sight
You are the one that caught my eye
I’m coming for you right now
Yeah you can try to hide
How many levels can you up
before I track you down and make you die?

The first part reminds me of WoW and how you can be anyone you want, you don’t have to tell anyone who you are in real life. The second part makes me think of PvP in WoW, when you’re in a battleground and see one person and you decide you’re going to go get him/her.

Lindsey Stirling – Minimal Beat

This song is an instrumental and has no lyrics. But the song and the video makes me think of dreaming and traveling, and it gives me inspiration to do what I like and what I want.

Machinae Supremacy – Rise of a Digital Nation

Though far apart, united by heart

We’re all far apart, from different countries all around the world, but internet makes us connected and united.

Machinae Supremacy – A View From The End of the World

Friend me, follow, fan and like
Say, what’s on your mind tonight?

Just as well when the real world feels so small
We are gods here, and we can reach it all
I can hear the whole world call

We excel at passing time, and we share our hearts and our minds

The Greatest Show on Earth is right here on the net
And we are a part of it

Again internet brings us together. We friend each other, follow each other, fan and like. Share our thoughts and what we do with the whole world. We’re part of the greatest show on earth.

Porcupine Tree – Time Flies

But after a while
you realize time flies.
And the best thing that you can do
is take whatever comes to you.

She said nothing ever happens
if you don’t make it happen.

 

Time flies, it really does. We grow older every day. If you want something, you have to make it happen. Follow your dreams.

Machinae Supremacy – Force Feedback

Take a look across this vast uncharted battlefield
You still don’t know your enemy
A bunch of pissed off freaks with infinite mad skills
And a newfound taste for blood

I don’t think you understand
These are our shores and our land
You are a stranger here
And we won’t be idle as you interfere

This song also makes me think of WoW and a new expansion where we don’t know who the final boss will be. Or a battleground where the opposing team don’t know their enemy which is us, “a bunch of pissed off freaks with infinite mad skills and a newfound taste for blood”.

And the second part is also about an enemy who enters our territory and we want them gone.

Machinae Supremacy – Crouching Camper Hidden Sniper

Do you always play warfare just to lay around
With your ass in the grass and your chin to the ground
Again and again every round

Now your chicken shit outfit and need to survive
is just trying my patience and cramping my style
It deals a lethal blow to the thrill
playing punk-hide and seek to get kills

I’m gonna do you a favor
And not t-bag you for your behavior
But even so you and I are far from OK
Your lame bullshit slows down the game

I was all about action, I played every day
But the failed interaction with lamers dismayed
Eroded the appeal of the game

These days I play for one and one reason alone
I’m here to practice muh stabbin’ on pissants who prone
I always got the most knife kills
Check your killcam to review my skills

Are you afraid of a showdown
(Rather) shoot in the back than react face to face
It’s not our fault that you’re slow
now be a good bitch and die before you go

This song makes me think of Counter-Strike. But parts of it can also be about WoW and bad players who don’t do what they should.

Machinae Supremacy – Indiscriminate Murder is Counter-Productive

I know that I’m not meant to kill this indiscriminately,
but I get a bit bit carried away by the sounds of pain

What I may never know is the place of the maze
in which I would have erased some fucking fairies from space
I neglected to ask before I killed the last dairy farmer who knew

I wish I had waited for you
I wish I could invoke some better part of me

I know I’m supposed to be all “the one”
but I have too much fun killing everyone

I came here to play, now could you come out and stay
so I can kill and away you
to the gods you pray to and never look back.

I know that all these NPCs don’t pose a threat to me
But I gotta kill kill something right now and this’ll have to do

This is one of my favorite songs by Machinae Supremacy because it’s different and fun. It also reminds me of WoW.

Music from World of Warcraft – Song from the Faerie Dragon event in the Whispering Forest

This song has no lyrics. But it is so mysterious and beautiful. Makes me think of the event and the feeling of finding a new and secret place, the excitement of adventures in WoW.

So, what would your blog sound like if it was a mix tape? Let me know in the comments below which songs you would add or make your own playlist and post it on your blog. Remember to post a link to your post on Confessions of a Book Pimp :)

2 thoughts on “My Blog as a Mix Tape

  1. This is cool! And I like that you were inspired by not just audio, but the team up of audio & visual!!!
    Be sure to let people know to link on my blog too! I’d LOVE to hear their lists!!!
    (Also, this weekend I plan on posting a link to EVERYONE’s play list on the entry!)

    This is such a great “tape”!
    Thank you for sharing! :)

  2. Wow Syrco that’s awesome you did that – I dont’ think I could figure out what to put on my mix tape… but your songs are so cool :)

Leave a Reply

