Secrets of Pandaria

For an adventurer and explorer it’s always fun with a new continent and zones, and I’ve spent so much time flying, running and swimming criss-cross all over Pandaria, I’ve been both high and low, but I haven’t discovered as much as I thought I would. After the Whispering Forest I’ve had very high hopes and expectations to Pandaria and I thought there would be some kind of hidden area or event to find, but after all this searching I’ve started to doubt it. Everything that has been found seems to have a meaning and everyone knows about it so it’s not that special. But I guess I’ll keep on looking.

There are plenty of fun discoveries all around Pandaria, so it’s not like they’ve forgotten about us who loves a small easter egg, hunting rares or collecting vanity and fun items. You’ve most likely heard of the Relic Hunter where you are to find 20 lost treasures hidden in Pandaria and Riches of Pandaria which are hidden grey items which gives a great amount of experience and vendor for around 100 gold.

I’d like to share with you some of my favorite easter eggs, references and fun discoveries in Pandaria.

The Watchers on the Wall

Shado-Pan Wallwatchers can be found on the wall in Pandaria and when you click them they’ll say “We are the watchers on the wall, We are the sword in the shadows.” which is a reference to the Night’s Watch in Game of Thrones.

WoWScrnShot_061713_011438

Up

On a mountain top outside Sri-La Village in the Jade Forest a house with balloons attached to it can be found. Inside the house is a male pandaren named Kar, outside is a grummle named Rusty Nail with a big backpack and there is also a dog called Dig. A great reference to one of my favorite movies, Up.

WoWScrnShot_020113_172916

Lonesome George

or Lon’li Guju as he’s been named in the game is a flying turtle in Zouchin Village in Kun-Lai. He’s a reference to the Lonesome George who was the last known Pinta Island tortoise. In the game he’s got wings and flies around the coast looking very happy. And if you do a /wave, /hug or /love at him, he’ll follow you around for a while.

WoWScrnShot_061713_012337

Adele

On the border of Townlong Steppes and Dread Wastes there is an area called The Widening Deep. If you fly around there a little bit and look closely you might discover a female pandaren rolling and rolling in the deep. A reference to the artist Adele and her song “Rolling in the Deep”.

WoWScrnShot_061713_011024

Ferdinand

He’s a yaungol sitting under the beautiful trees surrounded by flowers in the Arboretum in Jade Forest. It’s a reference to the story about Ferdinand the Bull who would rather smell flowers than fight in bullfights. You might have seen him in the famous Disney Christmas show From All of Us to All of You.

WoWScrnShot_061713_013403

The yellow brick road

Far south in the Jade Forest a picture can be seen on the a wall. It looks like the road to Oz in the Wizard of Oz.

WoWScrnShot_020113_174233

The Jade Witch

You might have done the quest about the Jade Witch in the Jade Forest. She turns people into jade statues which to me is a reference to the white witch in Narnia who turns people into stone statues.

WoWScrnShot_061713_013203

Other fun discoveries which I don’t know the reference to

There is a male pandaren fishing from an island in the Jade Forest. His name is Ky-Le the Traveller and he says “Here we are in the land down under. It is just as beautiful as the stories I was told as a cub on the Wandering Isle. Though the fish could be larger.”

WoWScrnShot_020113_173748

I discovered this when I was digging for fragments in Kun-Lai. It looks like a cat and made me think of Hello Kitty.

WoWScrnShot_021713_111338

Two skeletons playing a game on a mountain top in the Jade Forest.

WoWScrnShot_111312_122515

Skeletons of dinosaurs or some kind of similar animal surrounded by roses in Vale of Eternal Blossoms.

WoWScrnShot_020113_171847

A wooden raft with a skeleton, a doll and two birds who look alive cause they move their heads. It can be found in the Jade Forest.

WoWScrnShot_061713_013658

I have no idea who this guy is! But he can be found in Mistfall Village in Vale of Eternal Blossoms. Right now he makes me think of the Lilo & Stitch movies and Elvis, but that might be because I just watched those movies.

WoWScrnShot_061713_010201

There are plenty of other easter eggs and references in Pandaria, too many to mention them all, though I wish I had them all listed.

What’s your favorite discovery in Pandaria?

5 thoughts on “Secrets of Pandaria

  1. Loved this post so much! I’m a huge explorer in the game so finding little references and unique areas and objects like these really excites me and makes me love the game so much more. Thank you again for pointing these out, I can’t wait to log in and check them out.

Leave a Reply

