Flying laser moonkin

WoWScrnShot_020913_091305

This shared topic is a few weeks old and was suggested by Effraeti

We all have our favorite classes, and sometimes, even with our favorites we wish they had just a little something more. Like another skill that would be super cool and perfect to our class. Like for my Shaman, I think I should have more elementals.
If you could have another skill or two for your class, what would it be?

I’ve seen people call balance druids many different things. Moonkin, boomkin, oomkin, doomkin, owl, laserowl, lazerchicken, chicken, bird etc. We’re feather coated with wing-like arms, but our body is big and heavy, and the wings are too small and weak to lift us. But we do actually have wings right? We should be able to fly! We might not be able to fly were long distances so I wouldn’t want moonkin form to be our flight form. I’m thinking more like levitate and slow fall. A spell which makes us able to fly or jump a short distance and slow fall. I know we don’t really need a slow fall to reduce fall damage cause we already got feline swiftness which you can glyph to work in all forms. And I know we got something similar, Wild Charge outside of forms. But it’s not exactly what I’m thinking and what I’d want.

Imagine like a mix of a heroic leap, slow fall and Wild Charge. A spell you can use to flap your wings and fly a few yards forwards so it looks like you’re actually flying a bit up and forwards like a chicken would do. You can also use it when jumping off a cliff to fly further or reduce fall damage. I know we don’t have the need for it now, but this has been an idea since I started playing a moonkin in TBC, and I’m very happy with what we’ve got right now.

There is another thing I wish we had. I know it won’t happen, cause it would just be way too sick, insane and too funny. It has just always been a funny thought and a thing people playing moonkin have said they wish they had. Lasers! I’ve no idea why people are calling moonkin laserowl/chicken etc, cause none of our spells look like lasers. I’ve always joked about it, moonkin with laser shooting out of their eyes, like the Beamos mobs from Zelda Ocarina of Time or the laser shooting statues in Zelda the Wind Waker. Those mobs were always a bit frightening cause I was afraid of getting hit by them and they made this unique sound when they shot at you. I imagine a moonkin with a laser like that, I know it might sound very silly, but it would have been kinda cool.

Leave a Reply

