Tower of Quel’thalas still standing

I remember the day before the cataclysm hit Azeroth, people said that the tower of  Quel’thalas most likely would be destroyed and gone or just impossible to reach cause of invisible walls. One of my favorite less known place. I spent the whole evening there, watched the sun set and took some screenshots you might remember. I really thought it was my last time there and it would be gone by the next day. Untill I yesterday flew around the Quel’thalas area and thought I’d check and I was happily surprised by the sight of the tower and everything else standing as it did before the cataclysm.

It’s harder to get there now, but I don’t know why they want to prevent us from going there as it is beautiful and even has an own chat channel. Hopefully they will fully develop the zone and put it to use in the game as they first intended.

7 thoughts on “Tower of Quel’thalas still standing

  1. I’ve spent many an evening in Quel’Thalas, thanks to some of the “perks” of having a mage. I love that there is a blank “placeholder” there for the old Naxx 40, as well as rolling hills and steep cliffs. This is one of the last inaccessible places in Azeroth, unless you count the skies over Exodar/Azuremyst/Silvermoon.

    • I think it’s interesting to see what’s behind those invisible walls or how thinks were before or other things they’ve hidden :) I miss all the old places.

  2. I find it very interesting and I’m somewhat mystified as to why this is still here. It’s been there since Vanilla, and Blizzard has done something with every closed zone in the game at this point by either adding content or removing it entirely.
    My best guess is that there is still an idea on the table for this zone that Blizzard thinks they may or may not implement which is why it has been blocked off, and not removed.

  3. Hi!
    I love your posts! I have read alot about Quel’Thalas lately, sadly I never went there before Cata, an I SO wanna go there… You say it’s harder to get there now, but still possible, I can’t find any way to get there, any hints on how I can get there?

    • Thanks :) I haven’t been there since Cata but I used Blink to get through the walls, I’m not sure if it still works. I’ve seen people on Youtube going underneat the ground and then fly to it, maybe that’s the only way now :( Sad, cause it such a nice place and it should be ok to go there.

    • I’m not sure if it’s possible to get through there again, because I’ve tried and it didn’t work :/ When I did it I got through the wall behind Scarlet Monastery in Tirisfall Glades.

Leave a Reply

